Feb 24, 2024  
University of Alberta Calendar 2019-2020 
University of Alberta Calendar 2019-2020 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

The Professors

Return to: Faculty of Law  


Teaching and Scholarship

The Faculty of Law takes special pride in the teaching excellence and scholarship of its faculty members.

Faculty members have won University and national teaching awards. “Smart” classrooms allow instructors to use the latest advances in educational technologies.

Faculty members have produced leading journal articles, treatises, monographs and casebooks that are used by law students, lawyers, judges and legal scholars across Canada and internationally. These include works on property law, tort law, creditor-debtor law, personal property security law, trust law, health law, environmental law and professional responsibility, employing a broad range of perspectives, both doctrinal and theoretical.

Members of the Faculty




Professors Emeriti and Honorary Professors




Centres and Institutes Directors

TA Caulfield, Research Director, Health Law Institute & Science Policy Group
P Paradis, Executive Director, Centre for Constitutional Studies
Sandra Petersson, Director, Alberta Law Reform Institute

Sessional Lecturers


Additional Members of Faculty Council
President and Vice-Chancellor

DH Turpin, CM, PhD, LLD, FRSC

Director, Alberta Law Reform Institute

S Petersson, BA, LLB, LLM

Representative of Law Society

BA Beresh, QC, BA, LLB

Vice-Provost & University Registrar

LM Collins

Sessional Instructors Representative

P Paradis, BA, MEd, LLB